KUNDAN LAL “Power of Ra” (LP)


YNFND 026 / 2023 / LP + download


Kundan Lal set to sail new shores. There is a sense of wanderlust as he opens his box of field recordings, collected on his many travels. From the buzzing streets of Alexandria, early sunday markets in Tafraoute or a crackling bonfire down by the banks of the river Ganges. Each track takes you places.

Kundan’s second album is a captivating blend of dubby beats, collages, and exotic instrumentation. Drawing from classic tools like the Roland 808, SC7 and the famous Space Echo, Kundan has created a unique and minimalistic sound that is sure to captivate listeners. At once nostalgic and experimental, “Power of Ra” is a must-listen for both electronic music purists and fans of adventurous soundscapes.

It is hard to put your finger on his style or genre. You can feel Kundan Lal‘s DIY spirit in his production, carving his own ethnic genre.
For enthusiasts of Roberto Musci or Muslimgauze, this avant-garde album is one for your collection. Keep your senses open and let the Power of Ra pass you to another world.


A1    Sircus
A2    Ten yr Tahir
A3    Raqaqa
A4    Nasi Chip

B1    Illgrimage
B2    Boi Azizi
B3    Interlude (Aas Paas)
B4    Cen
B5    Tafra Tighre

all field recordings made by Kunsaf Halil in Marrakesh & Tafraoute/ Morocco, Alexandria/ Egypt, Varanasi & Hampi/ India

all tracks written, recorded & mixed by Kundan Lal
mastered by Rashad Becker
front photographed by Tomas Berger in Kathmandu
artwork by Manekineko

Cat.No. YNFND 026
Release 26.05.2023